About ABA
Committees & SIGs
Past Presidents
International Outreach

About ABA

The ABA is governed by a Board of Trustees consisting of members who are elected by the general membership of the ABA . The ABA is a non-profit 501(c)3 organization, incorporated in the State of Illinois, and organized for scientific and education purposes. Click here to view the current ABA Bylaws.



Michael D. Peck, MD, ScD, FACS
Phoenix, Arizona

President Elect
Linwood R. Haith, MD, FACS, FCCM
Upland, Pennsylvania

1st Vice President
Steven E. Wolf, MD, FACS
Dallas, Texas

2nd Vice President
Ernest J. Grant, PhD, MSN, RN, FAAN
Chapel Hill, North Carolina

William G. Cioffi, Jr., MD, FACS
Providence, Rhode Island

William L. Hickerson, MD, FACS
Memphis, Tennessee

Program Chair
Lucy Wibbenmeyer, MD, FACS
Iowa City, Iowa

Membership Officers
Shelley A. Wiechman, PhD, ABPP
Seattle, Washington

Jason Woods, FF
Washington, DC

Kathe Conlon, BSN, RN, MSHS
West Orange, New Jersey

Vincent A. Gabriel, MD, MSc, FRCPC
Calgary, AB, Canada

Past Presidents
Edward E. Tredget, MD, MSc, FRCS(C)
Edmonton, AB Canada

David H. Ahrenholz, MD, FACS
St. Paul, Minnesota

Palmer Q. Bessey, MD, FACS, MS
New York, New York

Member, Board of Governors American College of Surgeons
Nicole S. Gibran, MD, FACS
Seattle, Washington

Member, Trauma, Burns, and Critical Care Board American Board of Surgery
David G. Greenhalgh, MD, FACS
Sacramento, California

Editor, Journal of Burn Care & Research
David N. Herndon, MD, FACS
Galveston, Texas